Prof. Dr. Michael Oellerich

Prof. Dr. Michael Oellerich, George-August University Göttingen, Germany


Prof. Dr. Michael Oellerich (MD, Hon MD) is a Chemical Pathologist (Facharzt für Laboratoriumsmedizin) and a Lower Saxony Distinguished Professor of Clinical Chemistry at the Medical Faculty (UMG) of the George-August-University Göttingen, Germany. He was chairman of the Department of Clincal Chemistry/Central Laboratory at UMG from 1991 to 2012. He received the honorary Fellowship of the Faculty of Pathology of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (FFPath RCPI), the Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists (FRCPath) in 2006, the Fellowship of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (FACB) of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry in 2012, as well as the honorary membership of the Romanian Society of Laboratory Medicine in 2007. In 2012, he was awarded a Lower Saxony Professorship to support his research in the fields of novel biomarkers in transplantation and proteomics. From 1996 to 1998, he served as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and as the deputy of the chief executive for research and teaching on the executive board for the Medical Center and Faculty of Medicine from 1999 to 2004. He was president of the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology (IATDMCT) from 1997 to 1999, president of the German Association for Laboratory Medicine from 2001 to 2002, president of the German United Association for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (2003-2005), secretary-treasurer of the World Association of Societies of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (WASPaLM) from 2005 to 2007, and president of WASPaLM from 2009 to 2011. Currently he is the immediate past-president of WASPaLM. From 1999 to 2010, he was a member of the Steering Committee of EUROLIFE, a network of European centers of excellence in life sciences. He is Editor-in-Chief of the journal Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Associate Editor of Clinical Chemistry. He was Associate Editor of Clinical Biochemistry (1996–2007) and Guest Editor of Clinica Chimica Acta (special issue) in 2012. His current research interests are in the fields of therapeutic drug monitoring, with particular focus on endogenous biomarkers to achieve personalised immunosuppression in transplantation, as well as pharmacogenetics. Further topics include proteomics, analytical techniques (e.g. LC-MS/MS), and molecular diagnostics. He and his collaborators have authored more than 400 publications (articles contributed to scientific journals, book chapters, books edited). He served as External Examiner for the Second Professional Examination 2009/2010 of the Faculty of Medicine at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He received the Ludolf-Krehl prize of the S.W. German Soc. for Internal Medicine in 1971, the IATDMCT Award, Cairns 1999, the IATDMCT Charles Pippenger Award for Outstanding Contributions to Therapeutic Drug Monitoring, Washington 2001, the 2002 Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists Travelling Lectureship Award, the Professor-Landbeck-Award of the Society for Thrombosis and Hemostasis Research, Hamburg 2004, the Perth PathCentre Visiting Lectureship, Western Australia 2004, and the WASPaLM Medal of Honor, Las Vegas 2011.